Smart Flows comes with user roles with varying privileges. This helps you keep control of the entire project by only allowing some people to do certain things.

Concept

User roles

There are 4 user roles in Smart Flows. A user role defines a user's privileges and access:

  • Administrator
  • Designer
  • Super User
  • User

Administrators have access to all components and everything in them.
Designers differ from administrators in that they have a reduced Control Panel - they are unable to make major changes that could break the project. They can also access the Template Builder add-in for designing templates.
Users do not have access to the Project Console or the Template Builder add-in, but can only run flows.

Super Users are like users, but they can run other users' flows. This is mostly used for when you're using the API - this role is only available for native users.

User types

There are 3 user types in Smart Flows:

  • Native users
  • Connected users
  • System users

Native users can be created and deactivated within Smart Flows, while a connected user is synced from the users of a CRM system. Whenever you sync users, the list of connected users is refreshed.

Connected users are the way to go when you use Smart Flows with a CRM system, because this allows you to use the same users from CRM in Smart Flows and set their user role from within your CRM system. With automatic syncing (if you set it up), you can manage your users 100% from within CRM.

System users are users that are required for the system, but with which you cannot log in. You cannot edit their settings or remove them - they just exist.

Managing users

You manage users using the list view. Read this page to learn how to use the list view.

There's a toggle button that switches the view between connected, native and system users:

Creating native users

Upon creation of a native user, you'll see this window:

Give your user a user name, a description, a first name, a last name, an email address, a password and confirm the password.

Finally, choose which role to give this user. There's a 4th possible option for role here: Super User. This is a special type of user that can run flows that belong to another user.

User settings

Basic settings

Apart from the basic settings, users have the following settings:

Security

This is where you can change a native user's password.

API keys

API keys are used to authenticate with the API. More information about using the API can be found on this page.

Syncing connected users

The main reason for using connected users is that you can manage them completely from within CRM. To achieve this, you need to sync your users. You can do this either manually or automatically. Before you do this, however, you'll want to give them the correct security role from within CRM.

Setting security role from within Dynamics

Syncing users also reads their Dynamics security role and translates that into Smart Flows user role. Here's how to set your users' security roles:

  1. In Dynamics, go to Settings > Security.



  2. Go to Users.



  3. Select the users whose role you want to change and click Manage Roles.



  4. In the window that pops up, select the roles you want to assign.


The next step is to sync the CRM users in Smart Flows.

Manual user sync

Click the Sync button in the list view of the connected users:

A message pops up at the right side, informing you that Smart Flows is syncing users in the background.

When it's done, you'll get a success message informing you that the sync is complete.

Automatic user sync

Click the Configure sync button in the list view of the connected users to bring up this window:


You can also access this setting from Control Panel > Settings > User management:

Check the box to Enable automatic user syncing. You can choose how often the sync happens.

Remark: The schedule is calculated starting from midnight. For instance, if you select "Every 3 hours" in the schedule, the sync will occurs at 0:00, 3:00, 6:00, 9:00, 12:00, etc.

Activating and deactivating native users

You can activate and deactivate native users from the native users' list view:

Deactivating a user will render it unable to log in or do anything Smart Flows-related. All of the user's created items remain intact when you deactivate the user.

It is not possible to deactivate the last remaining administrator.

  • No labels